ICC names Babar Azam ODI player of the year for consecutive second year

ICC names Babar Azam ODI player of the year for consecutive second year

The captain of the national cricket team, Babar Azam, has been declared the ICC ODI Player of the Year for the second year in a row. The International Cricket Council made the announcement on Thursday regarding the player of the year for the Test, ODI and T20 format.ICC named Pakistan’s national cricket team captain and star batter Babar Azam as the best player of the One Day International format in the year 2022.

Babar Azam is also dominating the ICC ODI batter’s rankings. According to the recent updates in the ranking, Babar Azam maintained his number one position. It is pertinent to mention that despite a defeat in the ODI series against New Zealand at the home ground, Babar managed to hold the number one spot in the batter’s ranking.

HBL PSL 8 Schedule announced; Multan to host opening ceremony

However, in the past nine ODIs, Babar Azam maintained his batting performanceand now again become player of the year. Van der Doosan from South Africa has got the second position and his fellow teammate Quentin de Kock is in the third rank. Australia’s aggressive batter David Warner is number four while Pakistani opener Imam-ul-Haq is world number five.

On the other hand, no Pakistani player has managed to secure a position in the top ten list of ODI all-rounders. Bangladeshi star player Shakib Al Hasan remains number one. Afghanistan’s Muhammad Nabi is second, Mehdi Hasan from Bangladesh is third and Afghan star Rashid Khan is number 4.

Schedule of PSL 8 to be announced tomorrow

Meanwhile, Indian pacer Mohammad Siraj, who showcased a brilliant bowling performance during the home series against New Zealand, gained the top position in the ICC bowler’s ranking. According to the new rankings, Australian pacer Hazelwood is second, New Zealand fast bowler Trent Boult is third, and Mitchell Starck is in fourth position. Pakistani star bowler and captain of Lahore Qalandar Shaheen Shah Afridi is world number eight. Muhammad Nawaz is at the 28th spot and Shadab Khan is 38th rank.

Exit mobile version