Thirty-four newly appointed ministers take oath today

ISLAMABAD: On Tuesday, the long-awaited cabinet of the new federal government took the oath. Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif has finally decided on the 34 names that would represent his cabinet including three advisers, four state ministers, and 30 federal affairs ministries.

The ministries kept by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) will be parliamentary affairs, law & justice, inter-provincial coordination, national security, trade, energy, planning & development, interior, finance, and information. Azam Nazeer Tarar, Marriyum Aurangzeb, and Miftah Ismail are confirmed names from PML-N for federal ministries.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) will be given industries and production, communications, climate change, education, human rights, health, water resources, and foreign affairs ministries. From PPP, the members confirmed for cabinet include Fazal Shah, Qadir Patel, Syed Khursheed Shah, Mahesh Malani, Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar, Saleem Mandviwala, Shazia Marri, Naveed Qamar, Hina Rabbani Khar, and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari.

Other parties that would have representation in the cabinet are Awami National Party (ANP), Jamhoori Watan Party(JWP), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), and Balochistan National Party-Mengal (BNP-M).

Since President Arif Alvi refused to administer the oath, Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjirani filled the void as administrator for the oath-taking ceremony.

Exit mobile version