Last phase of KP local body elections underway in 65 districts

PESHAWAR: The last phase of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa local body elections commenced today here on Thursday. The voting started at 9:00am in 65 districts and will continue until 5:00pm.

Major political parties taking part in the election include Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Jamaat-i-Islami, Jamiat Ulema-I-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F), Awami National Party (ANP), Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), and the ruling party Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI). Special Assistant to Chief Minister Barrister Saif said that 65 seats comprised two positions for mayor and 63 for tehsils.

For the second and last phase of the local body election, the province has settled 5,829 polling stations. The authorities have declared 1,000 stations sensitive. For security purposes, 49,000 police officers have been appointed on voting premises.

Exit mobile version