Hamza Shehbaz loses simple majority in Punjab Assembly; ECP de-seats 25 dissident PTI members

hamza shehbaz loses majority Punjab assembly

ISLAMABAD: Chief Minister Punjab Hamza Shehbaz has lost the simple majority in the Punjab Assembly as 25 dissident members of Pakistan Tehreek-I-Insaf have been de-seated by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

Sharif had become the 21st chief minister of Punjab by securing 197 votes. After the ECP decision, his votes tally has decreased to 172 whereas 186 votes are required for a simple majority. Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, Speaker of Punjab Assembly, submitted a reference asking for action against deviant members. The verdict was saved on Tuesday.

The decision came after Article 63 (A)’s interpretation by Supreme Court.

The de-seated members of the Punjab Assembly by ECP are:
Abdul Aleem Khan
Nazir Ahmed Chohan
Uzma Kardar
Faisal Hayat
Raja Sagheer Ahmed
Malik Ghulam Rasool Sangha
Saeed Akbar Khan
Mohammad Ajmal
Mohammad Amin Zulqernain
Malik Nauman Langrial
Mohammad Salman
Zawar Hussain Warraich
Nazir Ahmed Khan
Fida Hussain
Zahra Batool
Mohammad Tahir
Aisha Nawaz
Sajida Yousaf
Haroon Imran Gill
Malik Asad Ali
Ijaz Masih
Mohammad Sabtain Raza
Mohsin Atta Khan Khosa
Mian Khalid Mehmood
Mehar Mohammad Aslam

Exit mobile version